Burton Ladies Bowls

Welcome to
Burton and District
Ladies Crown Green Bowls



News and Information
About the Ladies Game

About the Ladies Game


The Association was formed in April 1974 when 8 local clubs started to have regular team matches against one another for a League Cup. The Clubs were Barley Mow, B.T.R., Etwall, Hatton, Hospitals, Rolleston, Stretton and Stretton Anglesey. And so began league bowling which has grown over more than 30 years to 4 leagues with currently 29 clubs and 41 teams playing league bowls each week of the season.  The League currently run the Charity Cup, Home & Away and Champion of Champions competitions each year for teams and the Individual Merit, Beryl Wall Doubles, Heart Doubles and Doubles Merit competitions for individual bowlers, all from the hopes and aspirations of local lady bowlers in the early days of league bowling.

The Leagues are run by the Management Committee which is constituted from the Officers of the Association and a representative of each club in membership of the Association, with meetings held each month throughout the season.  The Ladies League has 4 Divisions with 11 teams in Division 1 and 10 teams in the other 3 Divisions.

From these clubs are drawn the players who form the Burton & District Crown Green Ladies County Bowling Association which has won the County Championship on 2 occasions in 1984 and 2001, also winning the Veterans Championship in its inaugural year 2000 and the Waterloo Cup in 2002.



	President:  			Sheila Townsend

	Chairlady:  			Jean Eccleshall
	Vice Chairlady:			Kay Chidgey
	Secretary: 			Karen Walker

	Treasurer:			Iris Smith 

	Results Secretary: 		Rita Cuthill
	Competitions Secretary: 		Di Baxter

	Afternoon League Secretary: 	Pauline Potts

[Back to the top]


Ladies League:
	Hon. Sec:	Karen Walker
			57 Shobnall Street, Burton upon Trent, DE14 2HH
			Tel No:		07976 646855
			Email:		LadiesLeagueSec@burtonbowls.org.uk
	Results Sec:	Rita Cuthill
			23 Burton Street, Tutbury, Burton on Trent, DE13 9NA
			Tel No: 		01283 814864
			Email: 		LadiesResultsSec@burtonbowls.org.uk
Ladies County:
	Hon. Sec:	Emma Gascoigne
			204 Henhurst Hill, Burton upon Trent, DE13 9SU
			Tel No.		01283 542186
			Email:		LadiesCountySec@burtonbowls.org.uk

[Back to the top] 

Prepared for Burton Bowls by BTS
Contact: Webmaster@burtonbowls.org.uk, 01283 542186